White Smoke & Revs hanging

Moderator: Moderators

86zxr01
My Bike: zxr400

White Smoke & Revs hanging

Post by 86zxr01 »

I went out Wednesday when my bike started over heating when going about 20-30mph for only about 2-3 mins. Then stopped with the fan going which went on for a lot longer then normal. Topped up the water (cheers ray) then went for a short ride. Then there was water, I think it was water (wasn’t oil) up my back wheel which had obviously been sprayed out of the bike but only on the right side of the wheel. During this time, every time I stopped to a stand still the revs would hang at about 2000rpm for a few seconds then drop down to normal. I haven’t been out since but I switched it on to see if it was running ok. There is now white smoke coming out the exhaust after a couple of mins of running at idle. Any clues what’s going on?
Anti-freeze normal level and oil between high/low although quite close to low though.
Please spare some patience. I’m new to a lot of this. Thanks
RedexRobB
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: ZXR400L3

Re: White Smoke & Revs hanging

Post by RedexRobB »

How hot is the engine getting? Near the red on the temp gauge?

The water/coolant maybe from the expansion bottle, its either coming out the cap or its been overflowing due to overheating. Possibly the radiator cap too, check both are done up tight and make sure coolant levels are where they should be. You can expect the radiator to be slightly low as some coolant will always expand to the expension bottle, but if its missing quite a bit then might be a problem. My gut feeling is its come from the expansion bottle cos the engine has gotten so hot, if the head gasket has gone then it will be because the system is more than likely getting pressurised.

Id think about a compression test myself and go from there.

It could simply be a case of slow moving traffic and high engine revs?
86zxr01

Post by 86zxr01 »