ZXR400H losing power when going uphill

Moderator: Moderators

ZXR400RXZ
My Bike: Kawasaki ZXR 400 H

ZXR400H losing power when going uphill

Post by ZXR400RXZ »

Hi there

I recently bought a ZXR400H1 model had it serviced not too long ago.
they changed the oil, oil filter, spark plugs etc, not sure if the replaced the fuel and air filters though, lost the job sheet.

recently i noticed that the bikes uphill power kept deteriorating, first it was fine going uphill with a pillion.
eventually after a while it started to struggle going uphill with a pillion, but went fine when i rode alone, and now recently it started struggling uphill without any pillion passenger.

I'm not sure if its dirty carbs or timing thats out, someone mentioned to me that it might be the chain and sprocket, as I am new to this i do not know much about bikes, but do have a mechanincal background.

can anyone please assist?

Regards
bendog66
L-plate hell
L-plate hell
My Bike: ZXR400 L4, ZX6R F1 track

Re: ZXR400H losing power when going uphill

Post by bendog66 »

..........................did you try changing down a gear? confuddled
Daniel.p
My Bike: Zxr400 93

Post by Daniel.p »

make sure you have little slack on your chain try pulling your wheel back and a notch or two might solve your problem
Ride it like you stole it
ZXR400RXZ

Post by ZXR400RXZ »

bendog66 wrote:..........................did you try changing down a gear? confuddled
Well basically it was when going up a ramp to a second level parking, was going up in first gear but bike really struggled, noticed though that it only happens when its really hot
ZXR400RXZ

Post by ZXR400RXZ »

Daniel.p wrote:make sure you have little slack on your chain try pulling your wheel back and a notch or two might solve your problem
I think there is a little play on the chain will give it a try and post feedback, thanks :smt002
ZXR400RXZ

Post by ZXR400RXZ »