Changing the oil

Moderator: Moderators

tng21
L-plate hell
L-plate hell
My Bike: zxr 400 h1

Changing the oil

Post by tng21 »

Due to being very new to bikes, ive been advised to change the oil in my bike as it stood all winter.

Now parently i should put a new filter in at the same time, how much are these? ANd how to i drain the oil from the bike to put the new oil in. Totaly novice here so moron explantion needed :smt037

is there a right up with pics anywhere?
RedexRobB
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: ZXR400L3

Re: Changing the oil

Post by RedexRobB »

Give me the end of this week and ill do one for you! Should have the chain adjustment done also!
tng21
L-plate hell
L-plate hell

Post by tng21 »

cheers ROb mate, chain one sounds good too as the last owner said it could do with a new chain and sprockets.

Have to ask these questions as i have this habbit of taking things apart to sort soemthing and never manage to put things back together again so im definatly not touching the bike as ill be gutted lol.
masterofinsanity
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Bike: Aprilia Tuono Fighter

Post by masterofinsanity »

easy, undo sump plug (assuming you know where and what it is) drain oil into a bowl or something similar, remove oil filter ( a new ones about £7) replace with new one, rub a little oil around the rim of the new one and tighten hand tight, fill engine with oil via the filler cap. might be worth putting some engine flush through it whilst you are doing it.
Don't forget people there is more to the zxr400 than this forum... check out www.zxrworld.co.uk also.
tng21
L-plate hell
L-plate hell

Post by tng21 »