Won't Start- Update+ Generator?

Moderator: Moderators

JamieNeve
My Bike: CBR600RR, ZXR400 L-2

Won't Start- Update+ Generator?

Post by JamieNeve »

As the thread about my Bike not starting got locked due to the debate it started, thought i'd put this here.

Basically, when going on a ride today, my Bike cut out at some traffic lights (also did this last week) and when I tried starting it, my battery was flat due to the starting problem that the other post stated. I had been on a 40 minute ride so my battery should have had at least some charge to start, but the starter motor simply did a struggle turn, then 'click' that they do when they aren't getting enough power.

I take it this means my generator may be bust or battery (but it is 3months old Bosch one), but how do I check? Do I start the bike (i'll obviously charge the battery first) then plug my voltmeter in to the battery end, or does it go in the generator end, am a complete noob with bike electronics so have no clue how to check,

Thanks guys!
CaNsA
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: ZX6R F1

Re: Won't Start- Update+ Generator?

Post by CaNsA »

Try another battery, one that is known to be working.
Moderator & Skilled Ban Hammer Operator!
Has this forum helped you out? Say thanks by donating some of your hard earned cash towards running costs.

:: <=-LOADED TELLY BOXES - NO CONTRACT - NO SUBSCRIPTION - PM ME-=> ::
JamieNeve

Post by JamieNeve »

Think I kept the old one so will chuck that one in whilst this one is charging, If it charges fully, shall I then start investigating the generator?

Also would this issue cause the cutting out at idle, I thought it may as if I keep the revs above 2K it's fine, maybe as it's getting more juice from the generator?

Sorry for the noobiness haha!
CaNsA
zxr400 oc member
zxr400 oc member
My Bike: ZX6R F1

Post by CaNsA »